Open for Registration | PRELIMINARY PROGRAM is now available

The global context of the current COVID-19 pandemic determines the need to postpone the International Symposium CONSOLIDATION 2021 to 23 -25 March 2022. We would like to maintain the conference as a physical event .


The Organising Committee invites all interested researchers, practitioners and producers to contribute with their research and technical knowledge, and to join us in Lisbon to actively participate in the event that we are committed to turn into an unforgettable experience.


In the sequence of the 2008 Symposium on this same subject, LNEC is organizing a new event to update what has been achieved in this relevant field of heritage science. The event will also honour Dr. José Delgado Rodrigues on his 50th year of activity as researcher and consultant, during which he contributed in many ways to broaden the scientific and technical knowledge in the field of stone consolidation, which is, perhaps, the most complex and difficult subject in stone conservation, and the one in which more research efforts have been invested to solve the challenging problems of the daily conservation practice.
The motivation of this symposium is to gather researchers, practitioners and producers in a dedicated forum where this topic will be the exclusive subject for presentations and discussions. We aim, in this way, to go deeper into the subject giving the stage to experienced agents and to young newcomers into the field, discussing the past and recent experiences, and bringing new ideas and proposals for the future.


Organizing Committee
Dória Costa (LNEC), Chair
João Manuel Mimoso (LNEC)
Marluci Menezes (LNEC)
Sílvia Pereira (LNEC)

Scientific Committee
José Delgado Rodrigues (LNEC), Chair
A. Elena Charola, Smithsonian Conservation Institute, Washington DC, USA
Alison Heritage, ICCROM, Roma, Italy
Ana Ferreira Pinto, University of Lisbon (IST), Portugal
Antônio Gilberto Costa, University of Minas Gerais, Belo Horizonte, Brazil
Eliane del Lama, University of Sao Paulo, Brazil
Elizabetta Zendri, University of Venice, Italy
Enrico Sassoni, University of Bologna, Italy
Francesca Gherardi, Historic England, Portsmouth, UK
George Scherer, Princeton University (ret.), USA
George Wheeler, Columbia University
Lorenzo Appolonia, Regione Autonoma Valle d'Aosta, Italy
Milos Drdacky, Institute of Theoretical and Applied Mechanics of the Czech Academy of Sciences, Prague, Czech Republic
Pagona Maravelaki, Technical University of Crete, Chania, Greece
Susanna Bracci, Institute of Heritage Science, ISPC-CNR
Teresa Rivas, University of Vigo, Spain

Advisory Committee
A. Elena Charola (Smithsonian Museum Conservation Institute), Chair
Andrew Oddy
Benita Silva
Carlos Rodriguez Navarro
Clifford Price
Cristina Sabbioni
Dario Camuffo
Eddy de Witte
George Wheeler
Giacomo Chiari
Giorgio Bonsanti
Jeanne-Marie Teutonico
Johannes Weber
Koen Van Balen
Konrad Zehnder
Lorenzo Lazzarini
Mário Mendonça
Marisa Tabasso
Mauro Matteini
Norman Tennent
Piero Baglioni
Piero Tiano
Rob Van Hees
Rolf Snethlage
Vasco Fassina
Thomas Warscheid